Bleeding Heart


“A compelling story … Deftly balances comforting descriptions of gardens and small-town life with the suspenseful unraveling of a mystery… 

Alice Hyatt is trying to move on with her life after her husband’s disappearance; he took millions of dollars and a female accomplice with him. She finds solace and stability in her landscaping business, Green Acres. When nearby millionaire Graham Mackenzie asks her to design his garden, she can’t say no—not just because he promises to give a generous donation to her best friend’s charity, but because she wants to take on the challenge of creating the most beautiful garden in the Berkshires. Mackenzie doesn’t exactly have a spotless reputation, however—he earned his money in the hydraulic fracturing industry, and many residents aren’t happy about it. Alice’s controversial client soon causes her problems with many locals, including Tom Deaver, the environmental writer on whom she develops a crush. But Mackenzie doesn’t really cause trouble until he drops dead …‘Gardening thriller’ may seem an unlikely genre, but Gyllenhaal pulls it off.”— Kirkus Reviews  

“Gyllenhaal nicely weaves environmental politics, financial shenanigans, and murder into Alice’s compelling story. Could get heated for book groups.” —Booklist

“The multilayered plot and deceptive characters makes this a strong crossover chick lit/mystery novel. Great for book club discussion groups.” —Library Journal

“A compelling, adroitly crafted novel of suspense about a woman’s second chance at happiness. Liza Gyllenhaal’s lucid prose illuminates everyday life while shining a light on the darkest secrets and desires. The taut and evocative prose is psychologically astute and powerful. Gyllenhaal is one of our finest novelists of the heart writing today.” —Carol Goodman, author of The Lake of Dead Languages and the Blythewood novels

“This novel blooms with striking beauty … Gyllenhaal′s engaging story builds its suspense as the pages turn and gives hope that even the worst situations can have a silver lining.”— Romantic Times

“In this tautly paced mystery set in the bucolic Berkshires, Liza Gyllenhaal delivers a tale of betrayal, greed, and murder with more twists than the paths through the gardens she describes so poetically along the way. Gyllenhaal also handily highlights a contemporary social issue sure to spark debates in every corner, as well as creating female characters with heart and ambition who have the courage to get their hands dirty, live by their convictions, and reinvent themselves. Fans of Jodi Picoult and Chris Bohjalian, this book’s for you!”—Holly Robinson, author of The Wishing Hill and Beach Plum Island

Full of intrigue and heart, Liza Gyllenhaal’s new novel is sure to leave you feeling as if you’ve taken a stroll through your favorite flower garden and found that strength was in full bloom.”—Jennifer Scott, author of The Sister Season

Order the book: